Mary Macpherson

The photographs of Mary Macpherson – with a dash of poetry

A few lines from Robert Hass

leave a comment »

One of my favourite things while I’m waiting for photographic prints to come out of the printer, is to sit looking out at the garden, cross examining the plants and reading poetry.

On my last printing run I read Robert Hass’s poem Exit, Pursued by a Sierra Meadow (Time and Materials, pub ECCO). It’s dodgy to misappropriate other people’s lines for your own purposes, but these ones seemed to relate to my Bent project, so I have…

“And because beauty is a little unendurable,

I mean, getting used to it is unendurable,

Because if we can’t eat a thing or do something with it,

Human beings get bored by almost everything eventually….”

Written by Mary Macpherson

27/09/2013 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

